Athens-Hocking-Vinton 317 Board Annual Meeting

Minutes

October 24, 2022

Present: Jaqueline Stobbs, Chair, Tonya Bowden, Jayne Darling, Dr. Steven Evans, Dr.

James Gaskell, Rhea Hopstetter, Candy Kemmerer, Robert Orth, Tamara Norway,

Gregory Polzer, and Patricia Robinette

Absent: Heather Batin, Dr. Tom Davis, Ralph Evans, Maeve Gallagher, Dr. Joe Gay, Anne

Rubin, and Roger Stivison

Staff: Kim Crum, Svea Maxwell, Marissa McDaid, Beth Mohammed, Kim Robinson,

Diane Pfaff, and Sherri Tyree

The 2022 Annual Meeting recognizing community advocates was held at the Scenic Hill Senior Center Wellness Center in Hocking County.

I. Award Presentations

Ms. Stobbs called the Annual Meeting to order at 6:02 pm and welcomed guests, board members, and agency staff.

Advocacy awards were presented to individuals from the three county area for their dedicated service to the Athens, Hocking and Vinton communities.

Behavioral Health Awards

- One Athens County Behavioral Health Advocate award was presented to Claire Abraham for her advocacy for students. Ms. Abraham has created a foundation that provides hygiene closets for schools and assisted in organizing a Back to School Bash which helped provide over 1000 students and their families with food, school supplies and haircuts to begin the school year on a positive note.
- The second Athens County Behavioral Health Advocate award was presented to Amanda Clark for her advocacy for wrap around services in Athens County. Ms. Clark leads a team of Community Behavioral Health workers.
- The Hocking County Behavioral Health Advocate award was presented Doug Fisher. As the Health Commissioner for the Hocking County Health Department, Mr. Fisher was an invaluable resource for the Logan-Hocking School District during the pandemic and has always had a positive impact on the Hocking County community.

- The Vinton County Behavioral Health Advocate award was awarded to Kim Brozak. Natasha Rapp nominated and accepted the award on behalf of Ms. Brozak. Ms. Brozak uses a person-centered approach, empathy and patience which has made immeasurable difference in her patients' lives.
- The Rita Gillick Mental Health Advocate award was presented to Dr. Scott Anzalone for his partnership with Health Recovery Services. Dr. Anzelone has provided space in his primary location for mental health licensed staff to work with patients on a range of behavioral health needs.
- The Valeria "Taffy" Marks Substance Abuse Prevention award was presented to Rhea Hopstetter for her advocacy on behalf of those with a substance use disorder. Ms. Hopstetter shares her expertise as a member of the Hocking Opiate Task Force.

II.	Adjournment
-----	-------------

The meeting adjourned at 6:45 pm.

Jacqueline Stobbs, Chair