Athens-Hocking-Vinton 317 Board Annual Meeting

Minutes

October 24, 2016

Present: Erin Gibson, Chair, Dr. Dan Alder, Garett Clark, Jayne Darling, Dr. Tom Davis, James Gaskell, Paul Grimes, Laura Hopstetter, Candy Kemmerer, Greg Polzer, Dr. John Shroad, Mark Snider and Libby Villavicencio
Absent: Dr. Roger Buck, Jeff Griffith, Dr. Romola Hopkins, Tonya Kennedy, and Julie Mogavero
Staff: Jackie Bowman, Earl Cecil, Amanda Conrath, Bill Dunlap, Svea Maxwell, Beth Mohammed, Kim O'Rourke, and Diane Pfaff

The 2016 Annual Meeting recognizing community advocates was held at the Hocking Hills Golf Club & Urban Grill in Logan, Ohio.

- I. Ms. Gibson called the meeting to order at 7:05pm and welcomed guests, board members, board staff and agency staff.
- II. Advocacy awards were presented to individuals from the three county area for their dedicated service to the Athens, Hocking and Vinton communities.
 - The Rita Gillick Mental Health Advocate award was presented to Jennifer Murphy. Ms. Murphy was nominated by Sue King.
 - The Valeria "Taffy" Marks Substance Abuse Prevention award was presented to Amy Black. Ms. Black was nominated by Bill Dunlap.
 - The Athens County Mental Health Advocate award was presented to Cathy Wooden. Ms. Wooden was nominated by John Shroad.
 - The Hocking County Mental Health Advocate award was presented to Elizabeth Nihiser. Ms. Nihiser was nominated by Victoria Hilliard.
 - The Vinton County Mental Health Advocate award was presented to Candie Sharp. Ms. Sharp was nominated by Jodi Jones.

- The Athens County Substance Abuse Prevention award was presented Christine Bhat. Dr. Bhat was nominated by Dr. Tom Davis.
- The Hocking County Substance Abuse Prevention award was presented to Debra Tobin. Ms. Tobin was nominated by Bill Dunlap.
- The Vinton County Substance Abuse Prevention award was presented to Cy Viestra. Mr. Viestra was nominated by Margaret Demko.
- Tom Odell was the recipient of a Special Services Award. Mr. Odell was unable to attend the meeting.
- III. Mr. Cecil noted that NAMI National had selected a photo by Paul Grimes for their Holiday card. He also thanked all who attended and adjourned the meeting at 8:00pm

Submitted by,

Earl L. Cecil, Executive Director

Erin Gibson, Chair